Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Text Size

Primary Election Results

(Le Mars) -- The Plymouth County election can be summed up by saying the Incumbants Win.  In each of the Republican primary contested race, it was the incumbant candidate that was able to protect their position. Although, District Two between Mark Loutsch and Wayne Schipper the difference was only 49 votes.  Loutsch was able to carry the rural areas while Schipper, perhaps not surprisingly carried Le Mars.  Another close race was in District 5 where Jim Henrich narrowly defeated challenger Dan Smith.  Henrich had 1117 votes while Smith had 951.  In District 3, Don Kass was able to win easily by defeating challenger Merlin Wagner by a margin of 1138 votes.  The sheriff's race between incumbant Mike Van Otterloo and Jay King was also a runaway.  Van Otterloo defeated King by a 6 to 1 margin. 
A total of 2205 votes were cast which is more than double the votes from the last election in 2008, when 1084 people went to the polls.  Again, the results of the Plymouth County Republican Primary had each of the incumbant candidates win.



Van Otterloo*    1844
J. King                314

District #2
Loutsch *        1069
Schipper          1020

District #3
Kass *           1580
Wagner          442

District #5
Henrich *        1117
Smith               951


* - incumbant candidate

Search KLEM

Copyright 2010, Powell Broadcasting, Website developed by iCast Interactive