Wednesday, May 25, 2016
Text Size

Collins Defeats Hemmingson

(Le Mars) -- Chris Collins was able to retain his seat on the Le Mars Community Board of Education by defeating Mark Hemmingson.  The final vote tally was 345 for Collins to Hemmingson's 242.  Both candidates were incumbents and seeking the district 3 director's position.  Collins has been a school board director for 15 years and Hemmingson was on the school board for 5 years.  The other seats for the Le Mars Community School District were unopposed.  Todd Lancaster will join the school board.  He was able to win with 514 votes.  Scott Kommes ran for unopposed in District 2.  Kommes was able to secure 507 votes.  Brenda Phelan was re-elected to the Le Mars Community School Board.  She also was unopposed and had received 505 votes.

Kingsley-Pierson votes had one name on the ballot but there were two candidates that had organized a write-in campaign.  Scott Bohle won with 66 votes, and Blake Laddusaw was the other winner with 31 votes.  Shari Suentjens was the other write-in candidate and received 25 votes.

Hinton voters had to decide two positions with three candidates.  John Reintzel had the most votes with 91 and James Binneboese is the other winner with 81 votes.  Robert Held had 69 votes.

Akron-Westfield had three candidates but were each unopposed.  Nicholas Schoenfelder will serve the district 1.  He earned 59 votes.  District 2 will be represented by Phillip Parks who had 57 votes, and district 3 will be represented by Bobby Walrod who had 59 votes.

Remsen-Union voters had to decide among six at-large candidates for three positions.  The top three were Micheal Sparr with 222 votes, and there was a tie for the other two positions.  Theresa Van Dam and Robin Weiler both received 176 votes.  Travis Tentinger got 138 votes, Melissa Harnack received 131 votes and Cheri Nitzschke had 97 votes.

Proposition J also was approved by a margin of 89 percent in favor to 11 percent opposed.


Search KLEM

Copyright 2010, Powell Broadcasting, Website developed by iCast Interactive