Tuesday, May 31, 2016
Text Size


Bachmann Coming to LeMars

(LeMars) -- Minnesota Congresswoman and Republican Presidential Candidate Michele Bachmann has announced plans to visit northwest Iowa, including a stop in LeMars.  Bachmann is scheduled to make an appearance at the Family Table Restaurant on Monday, November 14th. at 2:00 p.m.  Bachmann will conduct a LeMars Town Hall meeting at the restaurant.  Following her visit at LeMars, Bachmann will then make a stop at the Pizza Ranch restaurant in Sheldon at 5:30 p.m.  Her other northwest Iowa appearances include a stop at Storm Lake and Webster City on Wednesday, November 16th.

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - Gov. Terry Branstad has taken an increase in the state's gasoline tax off the table, rejecting arecommendation by a commission he appointed.
     In a statement released Wednesday, Branstad says he will press state transportation officials to find administrative savings of nearly $50 million over the next year. He says that those savings
must be found before any increase is proposed in the gasoline tax.
     Branstad's plans were first reported by The Gazette newspaper.
     The governor acknowledges studies have shown that more money is needed for the state's highways, but he says that funding should come from increased efficiency in highway programs before the state increases taxes.
     Legislative leaders say Branstad's position will make it difficult for lawmakers to consider increased gasoline taxes during the upcoming legislative session.
IOWA CITY, Iowa (AP) - Two days after she was convicted of murder, an appeals court has upheld a perjury conviction of a woman who lied to obtain an Iowa driver's license under a fake name.
     A jury convicted Tracey Richter of using a forged divorce decree that falsely claimed she had changed her name to "Sophie Corrina Terese Baronin von Richterhausen Edwards" to obtain a name change and an Iowa license in 2008. She was sentenced to probation.
     The Iowa Court of Appeals rejected her appeal Wednesday, ruling there was sufficient evidence to conclude she knew the statement was false.
     A jury on Monday convicted Richter of first-degree murder in the 2001 shooting of Dustin Wehde. On Tuesday, authorities found her father dead outside his rural Iowa home. An autopsy was being
conducted Wednesday.




Election Results -- LeMars Stays With Ward System

(LeMars) -- In nearly a three to one ratio, LeMars voters decided to keep the present day ward system of government representation, instead of changing to an all at-large representation.  In a low voter turnout, the vote count was 313 to 85.  In the mayor's race, Dick Kirchoff was re-elected to another two-year term, receiving 370 votes.  Council members John Rexwinkel and Delana Ihrke both earned another term as part of the city council.  Rexwinkel got 353 votes and Ihrke received 143 votes.  Each of the three candidates for the Floyd Valley Hospital Trustees were re-elected to another term.  Bill Rosacker received 352 votes and both Ralph Klemme and Larry Peterson received 350 votes each. 

Remsen residents chose Jeffrey Cluck as their new mayor.  Cluck received 227 votes to his opponent's, Dennis Gralapp 100 votes.  Mindy Klein and Dick Sievers were elected to the Remsen City Council.  Klein received 282 votes and Sievers got 356 votes.

Merrill voters decided to put Richard Huseman in the mayor's seat.  Huseman received 120 votes to challenger Michael Lindsey's 78 votes.  Elected to the Merrill City Council were Bruce Earl Norgaard, Valerie Hartman, and Daniel Pierson.  Norgaard received 143 votes and Hartman and Pierson received 108 votes each.  The other candidates, Ronald Perera had 52 votes and Sara Jane Hauff received 74 votes. 

Brunsville residents selected Darvin Ladenthin as a write in candidate for city council.  Ladenthin received 33 votes.  Gabe Roetman and Robert Von Hagel were the other two candidates that won positions on the Brunsville city council  Roetman received 33 votes and Von Hagel earned 33 votes.  Kenneth Krienert received 21 votes.

In Craig, Barry Comish was elected as mayor with 19 votes.  Elected to the Craig city council were Will Lalk with 13 votes, Joyce Ludwigs with 14 votes, Glenn Moller got 11 votes, and Kelly Plueger and Owen Smith both earned 12 votes.  Norman Weber and Candace Eades both received 10 votes.

Hinton voters selected Gary Fischer as their mayor with 94 votes.  The top three vote getters for the city council position were Jeffrey Johnson with 75 votes, Kelly Kreber with 98 votes, and Keith Towns with 51 votes.

Kingsley residents selected Rick Bohle as their mayor with 229 votes.  Doug Kraft and Lance Howe won positions with the Kingsley City council.  Kraft received 161 votes and Howe was a write-in candidate and received 145 votes.

Voters in Akron placed Harold Higman as their mayor with 140 votes.  City Council members include Barbara Johnson with 127 votes, Robert Frerichs with 119 votes, and Denise Loutsch-Beitelsphacher had 113 votes.  Care Center Trustee positions went to Robert Watson and Bradley Britton.  Watson got 146 votes and Britton received 116 votes.

In Oyens, Cheryl Christman was re-elected to the mayor position with 34 votes, and the top two vote getters were Scott Kniep with 27 votes and Donna Paulsen with 20 votes.

Struble residents selected Joseph Vollmecke as their mayor with 11 votes, and city council positions went to Robert Hughes with 11 votes, Troy Hughes with 10 votes, and Barry Jurgenson with 11 votes.   

Westfield voters cast their support for William Hummel as their mayor with 31 votes.  The city council positions went to Marcia Dewey with 25 votes, Gerald Bohr received 22 votes and the vacancy position went to Jim Ulatowski with 26 votes.




Page 1086 of 1579

Search KLEM


Stock Market

1 DOW 17,873.22
+44.93 (0.25%)    
2 S&P 2,099.06
+8.96 (0.43%)    
3 NASDAQ 4,933.50
+31.74 (0.65%)    

Copyright 2010, Powell Broadcasting, Website developed by iCast Interactive